A Conducted Tour of Vienna

Album cover

"A captivating selection of pieces. I can honestly say that I have never heard such orchestral reality. This recording stands alone in the field of Viennese orchestral interpretation" (Joan Dovenor, Keyboard Player Magazine)

in January 2004, Basildon Keyboard Club staged a re-creation of the Vienna New Year concert, complete with flowers and evening dress. Penny (and her Yamaha EL900m) replaced the orchestra. From that moment, she was hooked on Viennese music. This album features the famous Viennese composers Johann Strauss, Haydn and Schubert, and pieces that are essentially Viennese. At the Dance was composed by Penny's great uncle, Robert Louis Revel, a celebrated pianist, composer and conductor in the Europe of his day, and Living Dream Waltz is Penny's own composition.

Cover picture: Der Hoffball by Wilhelm Gause. Copyright Vienna Museum.

Available for £12.45 including postage and packing from Organ1st.

Record label: 

PenTone Music

Recording date: 

Title Sample audio
1 Annen Polka, Strauss (PenTone)
2 Serenade, Haydn (PenTone)
3 Czardas, Monti (PenTone)
4 The Emperor Waltz, Strauss (PenTone)
5 Bonne Bouche Polka, Waldteufel (PenTone)
6 At the Dance, Revel (PenTone)
7 Thunder and Lightning Polka, Strauss (PenTone)
8 To the Moon, Schubert (PenTone)
9 Vienna for Aye, Schrammel (Paxton Music)
10 Living Dream Waltz, Weedon (PenTone Music)
11 Pizzicato Polka, Strauss (PenTone)
12 Lehar Selection, Lehar (PenTone)
13 Schön Rosmarin, Kreisler (Boosey & Hawkes)
14 Vienna City of my Dreams, Sieczynski (Redwood Music)
15 Vienna Life, Strauss (PenTone)